Music Diary 2024

January 1st

Om Shanti Om (2020) – Don Cherry

Sounds like camp-fire, communal living, a blessing of sharing with instruments. Initial thoughts, welcoming the New Year, with new hopes, new meditations. Mantras contained in this album to stay focused, to go outside of the box. Soundtrack for a  Eastern. 7.5/10 

Thank you for reading. Peace be onto you.

January 1st

Tender Buttons (2005) — Broadcast

The whole of 2023, I have mostly listened to psychedelic music, the likes of Vanishing Twin, Tame Impala, Broadcast and towards the end of the year the force that is Ariel Pink. This album Tender Buttons, is quite the curious experience, curious and curiouser. Brilliant band with brilliant songs, some of my favourites are Goodbye Girls, Subject to the Ladder, Michael A Grammar (Oh my I don’t even know what this is about but it sounds so good, oh to be named Michael), Arc of a Journey and Corporeal. I always appreciate musicans who continue to produce music of this high quality despite not being the most popular. Poetry brought to song. Will be listening on repeat throughout the year. 8.8/10

January 3rd

Ariel Pink — Dedicated To Bobby Jameson (2007)

Been listening to his more recent records on damn repeat on YouTube. This is just the first of the year. Guy is a musical genius and I can’t believe he isn’t more popular. Of course all that whole cancelling thing could affect anyone. Still, producing modern hit “pop songs” like it was nothing. Avant garde, creative generating. Magnificent. This one is a 8/10 right but I hold the right to change after multiple listens.

January 12th

This Is Dub Clash – The Clash

I think this an unofficial release on YouTube, honestly I’m not even sure with anything about this record, I just saw The Clash and clicked. Mostly okay-ish for me, the only song with replay value is the dub version of Rock the Casbah in which the bass really thumps. 5/10

January 13th

Bless Its Pointed Little Head – Jefferson Airplane

Been listening to a lot of modern psychedelic music so why not go back to the origins. Jefferson Airplane rocks hard man. 8/10


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started